Featured Audio

  • Myrsini Margariti, Effie Agrafioti

    Lila Lalaouni - Sehnsucht

    Periklis Koukos - Dancing Piece III

    Dimitris Dragatakis 01 Sonata no.1 for violin and piano - I. Allegro Moderato

    Elena Papandreou - Lydia Awakens

    George Zervos - Five Variations, for flute and piano

    Picetic-Sakellaridis Piano Duo - Suite for 2 pianos - I - Tango (N. Skalkottas)

    Alkis Papadopoulos - Noessis

irida 013 200(Irida 013)

Periklis Koukos (b. 1960) is one of the most active and prominent composers of his generation. The draw of his music is so great that he constantly receives requests from soloists and conductors to rearrange his compositions for different instruments or ensembles for them. Only some of these arrangements are presented in this recording, and they were chosen with regard to their similar instrumentation.




Jiří Vodička, violin
Dimitris Koukos, piano
Conductor: Oldřich Vlček


Suite concertante for piano and string orchestra from the opera ballet A Midsummer Night's Dream (1997)

1. Overture. Αllegro cantabile - Poco più mosso e marcato - Tempo I

2. Fairies - Puck. Adagio misterioso – Vivace

3. Τhe conflict. Allegro molto
4. The purification. Αndante con grande espressione
5. The song of the ass. Allegretto ironico
6. Lullaby. Allegro molto - Adagio
7. Amusement. Αndante pomposo
8. Lost in the dreamland. Allegro moderato
9. Trapped in the forest. Presto

10. Adagio for string orchestra (1993)

Chorika for violin, piano and string orchestra (2006)
11. I. Largo – Allegro vivace
12. II. Adagio con espressione
13. III. Grave misterioso – Andante tranquillo – Presto energico

14. In Memoriam Y. A. Papaioannou for solo violin and string orchestra (1989)

Two Tangos for violin, piano and string orchestra (orch. P. Koukos - Y. Samprovalakis) (2003)
15. Tango I

16. Tango II