Featured Audio

  • Myrsini Margariti, Effie Agrafioti

    Lila Lalaouni - Sehnsucht

    Periklis Koukos - Dancing Piece III

    Dimitris Dragatakis 01 Sonata no.1 for violin and piano - I. Allegro Moderato

    Elena Papandreou - Lydia Awakens

    George Zervos - Five Variations, for flute and piano

    Picetic-Sakellaridis Piano Duo - Suite for 2 pianos - I - Tango (N. Skalkottas)

    Alkis Papadopoulos - Noessis

(Irida 024)

Featuring Quartet for oboe and strings (op. 51), Quintet for clarinet and strings (op. 51), and Quartet for strings (op. 57).

All recordings feature the L'Anima String Quartet: Stella Tsani (violin), Brunilda - Eugenia Malo (violin), Elias Sdouko (viola) and Lefki Kolovou (cello). Grammenos Halkias (clarinet) participates in the Quintet for clarinet and strings and Dimitris Vamvas (oboe) participates in the Quartet for oboe and strings.


 This is the second collaboration between Irida Classical and the composer, after the release of Music for Woodwinds. This collection captures the characteristic elements of the composer such as contrapuntal writing, expanded tonality and neoclassical stylings as viewed through the prism of chamber music for strings. The composer himself says about the work: “Chamber music for strings is the most appropriate field for expressing opinions, dialogue, contradiction and whatever else turns up […] However, music being the predominantly abstract art can not be completely clear about what exactly it is "negotiating". The listener is in charge of making his own "script" according to his listening experience, imagination and mood; and therein lies  "magic".